A look at Finals MVPs Since 2010

Every year the NBA has the pleasure of watching outstanding athletes compete against one another. Although many players are great, only one can be the recipient of Bill Russel NBA Finals MVP Award (name after the 11-time NBA champion). Needless to say, it’s a bit tough making these calls. A panel comprised of nine media members is what ultimately makes the decision. Each one cast a vote. The player with the most amount of votes wins the title. Of course this is an art not a science.

The player holding the most MVP awards is Michael Jordan with six. Magic Johnson, Tim Duncan, Shaquille O’Neal are all tied with three awards.

Lebron James holding a basketball while playing for the Miami Heat - MVPs - Raanan Katz

The Miami Heat is honored to have two players and three MVP awards to its name. In 2006, Dwayne Wade received the award and later in 2012 and 2013 LeBron James received it. Below is a list of MVPs since 2010.

2015 – Andre Iguodala – Forward/Guard – Golden State Warriors

During the 2014-2015 season, Iguodala helped the Warriors defeat the Cavaliers in six games.  he’s the first MVP to not have started every game in the Finals and to have not started a game during the regular season. He finished the season with 16.3 points 4 assists and 5.8 rebounds.

2014 – Kawhi Leonard – Forward – San Antonio Spurs

The third youngest player( 22 years and 351 days)  to win the award behind Magic Johnson in 1980 (20 years and 378 days) and 1982 (22 years and 298 days), Leonard averaged 17.8 points and 61%.

2013 – LeBron James – Forward – Miami Heat

With an average of 29.7 points and 7.8 assists, LeBron did even better during the 2012-2013 season. And it ended up being one of the best for the team. The Heat set a league and franchise record of 66-16.

2012 – LeBron James – Forward – Miami Heat

During Lebron’s second season with the Miami Heat, he and Hakkeem Olajuwon mastered post-game play. He averaged 27.1 points, 7.9 rebounds, 6.2 assists and 19. steals per game.

2011 – Dirk Nowitziki – Forward – Dallas Mavericks

One of two NBA players to have been trained solely outside of the United States, Dirk Nowitziki finished the playoffs with an average of 27.7 points, 8.1 rebounds and 2.5 assists. He is among 10 0ther plays to have been an NBA champion, NBA Finals MVP, a NBA regular season MVp, and a ten-time All-Star.

2010 – Kobe Bryant – Guard – Los Angeles Lakers

In 2010 Kobe Bryant won his fifth championship and his second consecutive NBA Finals MVP award.

Who know who this year’s MVP will be. At the moment, Steven Adams, LeBron James, and Kylie Irving all seem to be prime candidates.

For more basketball thoughts, check out my Twitter @RaananKatz1.

, , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

RK Centers